The Economic and Financial committee, the Second Committee of the General Assembly, focuses on global finance and economics. It deals with issues relating to economic growth and development such as macroeconomic policy questions (including international trade, international financial system, external debt sustainability and commodities), financing for development, sustainable development, human settlements, poverty eradication, globalization and interdependence, operational activities for development, and information and communication technologies for development.


František Novotný

Matheus de Souza Depieri

František Novotný is a student of political science and international relations at the Charles University in Prague. He is an avid delegate as he has participated in many various models of different organisations and bodies. Apart from simulating, he also loves to travel, read (again preferably about politics) and is very much interested in education. As a Law student at the University of Brasilia, Matheus Depieri is a MUN enthusiast since he was 14 years old. Passionate about International Law and International Relations, he is a member of Internationali Negotia, the most representative Brazilian Model United Nations institution, and also one of the founders of Internations (program to promote social MUN in his city, Brasilia). He is really excited to chair the ECOFIN committee in PragueMUN and is sure that it will be a great experience for all the delegates!


Topic A: Sustainable tourism and development for poverty eradication in Latin America

Topic B: External debt sustainability and development

Study Guide



Deadline to submit your position paper is 29th January 2017, 23:59 (Prague time).

Send your position papers to

Position Paper Template available here

Rules of Procedure available here.

Member States (24)

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Iraq, Japan, Republic of Korea, Luxembourg, Mexico, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Venezuela.