United Nations Women (UN Women)

UN Women is the UN organization dedicated to gender equality and the empowerment of women. A global champion for women and girls, UN Women was established in 2010 to accelerate progress on meeting their needs worldwide. UN Women supports UN Member States as they set global standards for achieving gender equality, and works with governments and civil society to design laws, policies, programmes and services needed to implement these standards.



Nicole Tan

 Maria F. Barnachinskaya

Hey everyone, I am Nicole, one of your co-chairs for UN Women Committee! I am a 2nd Year Law Undergraduate in the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE), and I come from Singapore. I love playing floorball (think ice hockey without the ice) and singing in chamber choir. Coffee, single-malt whiskys and copious amounts of food sustain me through the pain that is law school, and so does travelling every 2-3 weeks (yes, during school term). When I am actually in London, you can find me hiding in my duvet watching cat videos or TV dramas, and occasionally gymming. Looking forward to meet everyone at PragueMUN!  Maria is a third year politics and international relations student at Royal Holloway University of London. She was born is Moscow Russia and raised in the southern coast of Spain. Maria developed her passion for MUN after attending the Harvard National Model United Nations in 2015. Since then she has participated in many national and international conferences, as a delegate as well as a chairperson. She is very honoured to be chairing UNWomen at PragueMUN this year and promises to make sure the delegates have the best MUN experience.


Topic A: Fighting the violence against all women and girls
Topic B: Empowering rural women through the SDGs

Study Guide




Deadline to submit your position paper is 29th January 2017, 23:59 (Prague time).

Send your position papers to unwomen17@praguemun.cz.

Position Paper Template available here.

Rules of Procedure available here.

Member States (35)

Albania, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Colombia, Congo, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ghan, Germany, Guatemala, Guyana, India, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Israel, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Mongolia, Norway, Nigeria, Pakistan, Paraguay, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, United Kingdom, Uruguay.